Moderator: Super Moderators
SmokestackJones wrote:Hey there,
Thought I'd put this as a seperate topic. Here's a quote from the FAQ:
Do extras and power stunts that duplicate other powers work at
the same rank as the base power?
Yes, unless stated otherwise, extras and power stunts that duplicate
another power work at the rank of the base power.
Now, here's a quote from my How to Add Superpowers file on Valdier's site (referring to Power Stunts):
Powers may be added as Power Stunts, but the Power being added must be of equal or lesser cost than the per rank cost of the base Power, i.e, a Power with a greater base cost as the Base Power added as a Power Stunt will have less ranks than the Base Power.
Is there a conflict here? I was under the assumption that Power Stunts, due to thier cost, would be beholden to the cost of the Base Power. In other words, Base Power A (2pp/level) bought at PL10 has Power B (3pp/level) added as a Power Stunt. Thus, Power Stunt B would be at PL6.
Is this correct? Steve even okayed this before I sent it off to Valdier...
Maker of the Sampo!
Steve Kenson wrote:No conflict, the info on Valider's is still correct. It falls under the "unless otherwise stated" clause
The FAQ clarification is primarily aimed at all the occasions in the rulebook where it says "this stunt gives you the ability of X power" which nearly always means "at the same rank as the base power." It's not primarily aimed at custom-built powers, which are a somewhat different topic.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests