SIFRP QUESTIONS

Talk about Green Ronin's A Song of Ice and Fire RPG, based on George R.R. Martin's best-selling fantasy series. Winter is here!

Postby RJS » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:21 pm

Addressed 04/11/09
Robert J. Schwalb
Game Designer/Developer
User avatar
RJS
Ronin Evil
Ronin Evil
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 4:01 am
Location: M'boro, TN

Postby hedgewizard » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Combat; p 158

Detection & Surprise before Initiative. Nowhere in the rules does it suggest that a party that successfully surprises another acts first in initiative order.

Right now, all surprise buys you is +1D to your combat test. It doesn't mean you get to go first.

I am assuming that going first would be the standard, or at minimum you would receive extra test dice or bonus dice to initiative.
hedgewizard
Cohort
Cohort
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:55 am

Fortune Rolls

Postby Silverscythe » Fri Apr 17, 2009 7:09 am

Recently bought the rulebook and really looking forward to getting it played,

but i have a question regarding Fortune Rolls.

The rulebook says whoever is steward makes a Status Roll with the

appropriate modifiers.

My question is, how do you know what status your steward has?

And also wouldn't you always let your Lord do the throw, since his status is

the highest? It just seems weird to have a Steward that is supposed to be

good at handling your economy, but since he probably has worse status he

will roll fewer dice? Or have i misunderstood something?
Silverscythe
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 5:46 am

Postby RJS » Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:46 am

Addressed 04/19/09
Robert J. Schwalb
Game Designer/Developer
User avatar
RJS
Ronin Evil
Ronin Evil
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 4:01 am
Location: M'boro, TN

Postby Allavandrel » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:22 pm

Page 199, Table 11-7:

Please check whether it is correct that there is a 93% chance of success for Rank 6 on both Hard (15) and Very Hard (18).


All the best,
Allavandrel
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby kckolbe » Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:51 am

Does Weapon Mastery improve offhand damage (if any) of the offhand weapon on a two-weapon attack?
kckolbe
Cohort
Cohort
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:30 am

Postby Tyrion » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:55 am

Page 200: Example for "Roll of Circumstance" vs. Explanation of "Modifiers"

In the Example of "Roll of Circumstance", the weather (rain) increases the difficulty by 3 and then also a pressure (audience) increase it by another 3.

In Modifiers, we are told, that one should not alter a difficulty by more than +/-3 and in the penataties we find similar examples rain and pressure.

So, whats the difference between a "Complication" and a "Penalty"?
Tyrion
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:47 pm

Postby RJS » Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:44 am

FYI, there will not be an update this week
Robert J. Schwalb
Game Designer/Developer
User avatar
RJS
Ronin Evil
Ronin Evil
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 4:01 am
Location: M'boro, TN

heir creation

Postby 20100 » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:37 am

Hello,

Beginner questions...
(I read and seacrh in the forum and i can't find the answer)

The PCs create their House.
They roll and ajust the house Status score and have a big 62, for example.

Q1) If PCs don't want to be the first heir but only play a second in line,
do they invest 20 and 10 ? or only 10 ?

Q2) If one PC decide to be the first heir. They invest 20.
Then the PC must invest 100 experience pts in Status ?
Can he invest less than the max-1 rank of the house ?

Q3) Must the heir invest 1 destiny point to the heir quality ?

Q4) Can a second son in line of inheritance invest a destiny point in the heir quality ?

(forgive my poor english, this is not my mother tongue)

Thank you
20100
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:17 am

Postby Davechan » Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:12 pm

I'll just quickly answer these as they aren't really Errata-type questions ^_^

1) Yup, you invest points for NPCs as well as PCs, so to have an heir and a second in line costs 30. (Though if the House's status is low enough that the secopnd in line can only have Status 2, you don't need to invest points)

2) He probably ought to invest the necessary experience in Status, yes. Technically there's nothing stopping him investing less in Status than he "should" have, but he really ought to without good reason. It is a big investment of XP, but then, it has it's benefits and is surely one of the points of being the heir.

3) Yes. Without the Heir quality they're not the heir.

4) Nope. Not until their older brother has an "accident" anyway ^_^

Obviously, as an individual GM you can choose to waive some of these costs and requirements as you desire. If you are doing things "by the book", this is the way they work out.[/i]
Davechan
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:51 pm

Postby Banjo » Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:48 pm

When can we expect an updated PDF ? :mask:
Banjo
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:32 pm

Postby 20100 » Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:40 pm

Davechan wrote:I'll just quickly answer these as they aren't really Errata-type questions ^_^
[/i]


Thank you.

:)
20100
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:17 am

Postby RJS » Fri May 01, 2009 6:32 am

Addressed
Robert J. Schwalb
Game Designer/Developer
User avatar
RJS
Ronin Evil
Ronin Evil
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 4:01 am
Location: M'boro, TN

Postby ceck » Sat May 02, 2009 12:46 am

Hi

when I make an influence investment to have heirs aND SO ON, are MY influence points lost?
For example, if my house initial influence is 62, which would grant status 7 to the leader and one player invests for the heir 20 points, is the total influence lowers to 42 and the status to 5?
I think no, is it true?
The Status remains 7, Total influence 62 with 20 invested point and 42 free points? Is this right?

Luca
ceck
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:26 am

Postby Davechan » Sat May 02, 2009 1:46 am

The Status remains 7, Total influence 62 with 20 invested point and 42 free points? Is this right?


Yup, that's right ^_^
Davechan
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:51 pm

Postby ceck » Sun May 03, 2009 4:09 am

Hi

page 103
It is stated that an heir has the House Status -1, the second son (or first daughter Status -2) and finally other children (except bastards) Status -3.

If I have a House with 6 Status, the Lord has 6, the Heir 5, the second son + first daughter 4, the other children 3.

That's it.
At page 43, Table 3-2, I read that:
Lord + Heir + Lady + offspring have Status 6.

I don't understand. Which is the right status level? for the different roles?
And the bastard should he have status 4 (table 3-2), higher than the 3rd children? It seems impossible?

Other questions:

1) which is a feasible status for an House minor branch? For example the brother of the House Lord or the Cousin?

2) What do you mean for courtier in Table 3-2?

Thanks
Luca
ceck
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:26 am

Postby Hans Wurst » Mon May 04, 2009 1:10 am

page 152 "Spear | Spear | — | Athletics | Fast, Two-handed"

Why I can't use spear and shield (if I can throw that spear (p 153))?
regards
Hans Wurst

Avatar: Halfling, WFRP Page:221, (C)byGW
User avatar
Hans Wurst
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 12:52 am

Postby Draffut » Mon May 04, 2009 2:36 pm

According to the rules, Cavalry has the Endurance and Athletics of their mounts, but which mounts would they have? I assume Coursers, but it is never stated. Also, is this adjustible with wealth or the like?
Draffut
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 10:57 am

Postby Draffut » Mon May 04, 2009 5:48 pm

Also in the Myrish Crossbow's description, it states that it is difficult to reload, but fires 3 bolts at a time. I cannot find either of these charecteristics in the weapons stats. It's actually the only crossbow without a reload stat.
Draffut
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 10:57 am

Postby Ajes » Wed May 06, 2009 1:08 am

Are the number of degrees of success you can achieve capped at 4? Does a quality like Long Blade Fighter I allow you to achieve 5 degrees of success?
Ajes
Dabbler
Dabbler
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 1:44 am

Postby Draffut » Wed May 06, 2009 8:20 am

My third, and hopefully last, question:

Hide Armor seams unusually good compared to the two higher types of armor (Mail and Breastplate) It is half the price of them, supplies the same AR, but has a lower Bulk and Armor Penalty. Is this intended?

Ajes wrote:Are the number of degrees of success you can achieve capped at 4? Does a quality like Long Blade Fighter I allow you to achieve 5 degrees of success?


Yes, that is why 4 degrees of success is 15+. I cannot see any note about there being higher degrees outside of qualities.
Draffut
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 10:57 am

Postby Allavandrel » Fri May 08, 2009 5:46 am

Page 155, 2nd column, line 1 and line 3:

Armor Bonus should be Armor Rating.
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby RJS » Sun May 10, 2009 8:28 am

Addressed.

FYI, there will be no update on 5/18
Robert J. Schwalb
Game Designer/Developer
User avatar
RJS
Ronin Evil
Ronin Evil
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 4:01 am
Location: M'boro, TN

Postby phild » Mon May 11, 2009 8:02 am

Can a House with an Artisan equip all of its Units with Castle-forged weapons and armour? If so, what is the implication on Unit Attributes?
phild
Groupie
Groupie
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:55 am

Postby ceck » Fri May 15, 2009 10:48 am

In the FAQ

Status
Q) Why does Table 3-2 list Status 6 for Lord of the house, heir, lady, offspring when the rules on page 103 suggest something different for Status allocation?
A) The table on page 43 is a quick and dirty method for assigning positions and the Examples are suitable types of folks associated with Status ranks. If your group builds a house from scratch, use the rules covered in Chapter 6.


Following chapter 6 rules, if I have a Lord with 6-7 status, the third male son would have status 3-4. Isn't it too low?
For example an adult Rickon Stark would have status 4, just two more than a commoner? And less than his master or septon? Is this correct?

Luca
ceck
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:26 am

PreviousNext

Return to A Song of Ice and Fire RPG

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests