Woodclaw wrote:Mercenaries (page 107)
I don't understand how to pay for mercenary units, the table list a +1* cost modifier to the base power cost determined by the training level, but their entry list a Wealth cost without specifing if this cost substitutes or suplements the power one.
My guess is that you have to replave the normal base power cost with the wealth cost and pay a +1 Power cost on the top of it. Am I right?
According to the rules as written, they would cost a Base Power Cost (Training, Page 105), plus the cost as shown in Table 6-8: Unit Types (Page 107).
According to Table 6-8, there is an additional cost in wealth, according to training.
As it stands, two veteran units of mercenaries would cost 12 Power and 12 Wealth.
Base Power 5 + 1 = 6 power each (12 Power) and,
Wealth - 6 each (12 Power)
Two veteran units of infantry would cost 18 Power and 0 Wealth.
Mercenaries have slighty better Stats than Infrantry (see Table 10-1, Page 172), but have worse Discipline (Table 6-8, Page 107).