Power Attack and Stacking Limits

This board is locked, but is preserved here as an archive of all your hard work posting. Please register on the new M&M boards, over at http://atomicthinktank.com/

Power Attack and Stacking Limits

Postby Argos » Thu Aug 07, 2003 8:02 am

Is the bonus damage from the power attack feat limited by the rules on power level stacking?

Example: Savage Man (PL10) has Natural Weapon 10 and a BAB of +5. He uses his power attack feat, with a -5 to his attack but +5 damage. Does the extra damage get ignored?

I don't think this applies, since the Hyena villian in the back of the book even mentions somthing similar.
Argos Xanth
Argos
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 12:57 pm

Postby DrObvious » Thu Aug 07, 2003 8:04 am

No, it will stack normally. You can't have more than +PL to damage from powers, but other areas can bring it up past that.
I'm not mrobviousjosh or DocObvious, just some other guy. Obviously.

"In other words, Dr. Obvious and AaronUnicorn are quite correct" - Steve Kenson 8/7/03
User avatar
DrObvious
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:53 am
Location: Western PA

Postby En Sabah Nur » Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:33 am

Question....if someone has a damage bonus of +8, then adds +5 from Power Attack, how does that affect someone with Protection +10? Does the Protection negate the weapon? Or does he make a regular damage save vs. +3?
"
User avatar
En Sabah Nur
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 10:59 am

Postby AaronUnicorn » Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:40 am

He makes a damage save at +3.
User avatar
AaronUnicorn
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 10:41 am
Location: Oxford, Ohio

Postby Steve Kenson » Thu Aug 07, 2003 1:20 pm

The damage bonus from Power Attack is not affected by the stacking limit (which affects powers, not feats) and is included as part of the damage bonus for determining whether or not a target with Protection needs to make a Damage save.

(In other words, Dr. Obvious and AaronUnicorn are quite correct.)
Steve Kenson
Ronin Steve
Ronin Steve
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: In the Fade

Postby DrObvious » Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:51 pm

Steve Kenson wrote:(In other words, Dr. Obvious and AaronUnicorn are quite correct.)


Sig'ed!
I'm not mrobviousjosh or DocObvious, just some other guy. Obviously.

"In other words, Dr. Obvious and AaronUnicorn are quite correct" - Steve Kenson 8/7/03
User avatar
DrObvious
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 9:53 am
Location: Western PA


Return to Mutants & Masterminds Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests