SIFRP QUESTIONS

Talk about Green Ronin's A Song of Ice and Fire RPG, based on George R.R. Martin's best-selling fantasy series. Winter is here!

Shields

Postby Roland Stone » Mon May 18, 2009 2:17 am

The Erratas say:
Equipping Units (Addition); SIFRP, Page 173
At the end of the third sentence, add the following:

(Cavalry, Infantry, Mercenaries, and Personal Guards all carry shields).

Equipment Upgrades (Addition); SIFRP, Page 173
At the end of the paragraph, add the following:

Alternatively, you may spend 1 Wealth to equip a unit with shields, thus enabling certain advanced orders. Should you do so, the unit does not gain an increased to Fighting damage, but instead increases its armor rating by 2. Units that have shields (see above), cannot be upgraded in this way.


The consequence of this is that Archers with new-bought Shields have better armour rating than Infantry (who is supposed to have shields by default). That is as good as Infantry upgraded on armour, but without the bulk.
Other comparisons reveal similar flaws.
It seems to me that the units already having shields should have a higher Armor than given in the table, or the units without shields should have their Armor reduced or the shield bonus should be reduced.
Roland Stone
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:24 am

Postby zebuleon » Mon May 18, 2009 11:25 am

on page 106 it says under type, top of page second column,

'A unit may spend its upgrades on any abilities available to all types.'

what is the cost of this and what is the upgrade? is it one point of Power for a +1D to an ability? or is it a point of Wealth like equipment?
zebuleon
Cohort
Cohort
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:37 am

Re: Shields

Postby Irontruth » Mon May 18, 2009 12:59 pm

Roland Stone wrote:The Erratas say:
Equipping Units (Addition); SIFRP, Page 173
At the end of the third sentence, add the following:

(Cavalry, Infantry, Mercenaries, and Personal Guards all carry shields).

Equipment Upgrades (Addition); SIFRP, Page 173
At the end of the paragraph, add the following:

Alternatively, you may spend 1 Wealth to equip a unit with shields, thus enabling certain advanced orders. Should you do so, the unit does not gain an increased to Fighting damage, but instead increases its armor rating by 2. Units that have shields (see above), cannot be upgraded in this way.


The consequence of this is that Archers with new-bought Shields have better armour rating than Infantry (who is supposed to have shields by default). That is as good as Infantry upgraded on armour, but without the bulk.
Other comparisons reveal similar flaws.
It seems to me that the units already having shields should have a higher Armor than given in the table, or the units without shields should have their Armor reduced or the shield bonus should be reduced.


A better question in my mind, is why do shields grant armor rating for units instead of a defensive bonus?
Irontruth
Super Poster
Super Poster
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:28 pm

Postby zebuleon » Mon May 18, 2009 1:43 pm

On pg 106, it says its possible to build units with 2 or mores types.

is there a limit/restrictions to the number or combination of types?

or are Elite Raiding Crusader Mounted Archer Scouts 24(6) really doable?

or is commonsense the only rule for this.
zebuleon
Cohort
Cohort
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:37 am

Postby Allavandrel » Mon May 18, 2009 10:58 pm

Page 108, under 'Special':

The last sentence reads "Since these units have specialized training, they are the most expensive to field".

However, Table 6-8 shows Special units have a Power Cost of +4, which is similar to Infantry, Sailors, and Crusaders, and they cost less than Cavalry, Personal Guards, and Warships.

I guess Special units should either have a Power Cost of +5 or the last sentence should be deleted.


Thanks for a brilliant game!
Allavandrel
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby Allavandrel » Mon May 18, 2009 11:10 pm

Page 108, under 'Warships':

Should Warships have the same note as Personal Guard:

Special: A commander or sub-commander can attach himself to a personal guard/warship unit and retain the ability to issue orders.

As the rules stand, we have some trouble placing the commander (admiral) in a realistic position, so that she still is able to issue orders. Alone in a rowing boat in the midst of a naval battle doesn't seem like the best place to be for an admiral.
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby Allavandrel » Mon May 18, 2009 11:17 pm

Page 210, under 'Bandit':

Bandit statistics should be revised according to the new revision of Hide armor.

Table 9-2; SIFRP, Page 151 (Revision)
Hide armor should have AP −3 and Bulk 3.
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby phild » Tue May 19, 2009 1:27 am

zebuleon wrote:On pg 106, it says its possible to build units with 2 or mores types. is there a limit/restrictions to the number or combination of types? or are Elite Raiding Crusader Mounted Archer Scouts 24(6) really doable?


To me, the answer is "Yes, it's possible" followed swiftly by "But why the hell would you bother?". You get an experienced Cavalry unit; Archer adds ranged capability (tho by my reckoning, their weapon is a long bow and thus not usable unless dismounted). Crusader and Scouts adds nothing except for what skills you can invest in.

Although it does highlight another big issue in the Warfare section: a cavalry unit represents 20 troops, an infantry unit represents 100. Therefore cavalry are 5 times hardier and 5 times more damaging than infantry (as they don't suffer any health or damage penalties). When a Cavalry Archer uses it's bows, do they divide all damage dealt by 5? Or do they have extra sharp magic arrows as well?!

(My solution is to ignore this: a cavalry unit is 100 horsemen)
phild
Groupie
Groupie
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:55 am

NEW QUESTION: Water Dancer III

Postby phild » Tue May 19, 2009 5:11 am

Does Armour Mastery affect the requirement in Water Dancer III to wear armour with Bulk 0? I.e. does wearing Bulk 1 armour with Armour Mastery (Bulk -1) allow the Water Dancer III benefit to apply?
phild
Groupie
Groupie
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:55 am

Postby Allavandrel » Thu May 21, 2009 10:02 am

Page 119 under "Wage Wars".

What exactly happens when you choose "Wage Wars" as your House Action?
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby Allavandrel » Thu May 21, 2009 11:46 pm

Page 29 under Failure.

The text says "Any time danger is involved and you fail the test by 5 or more, you may suffer a Critical failure...".

This rule must apply in combat, but it deviates from the Fumbles rules (Page 165), which say that "A Fumble occurs whenever the dice come up all 1s on a test roll".

Do both rules apply in combat or do one of them need to be revised to match the other? The risk for fumbling seems to be very small even for a character with Fighting 3.
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby Roland Stone » Fri May 22, 2009 2:52 am

Allavandrel wrote:Page 119 under "Wage Wars".

What exactly happens when you choose "Wage Wars" as your House Action?



My humble opinion about what this rule means:
When you are in an outright war, the important people from the house are busy with the war issues, likely too busy to do other house actions.
So, when you are in a "real" war, managing it eats up your House Action.

I guess it is up to the Narrator to decide when something is "just a police action" or a full-sized "war" against a significant foe, or what penalty applies if you fight a war without Waging War.

Other than that, nothing unexpected would happen. You play as expected, you move your House's troops, engage enemies in Warfare battles (or avoid them), Intrigue for allies or support, maybe do some covert ops.
Roland Stone
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:24 am

Postby Roland Stone » Fri May 22, 2009 4:12 am

Maybe I am missing something, but the use of some Abilities of Units are not clear to me.
How does a unit use Knowledge or Survival or Healing within the rules? Why bother raising them, for units that can do so?
Roland Stone
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:24 am

Postby Roland Stone » Sun May 24, 2009 1:18 am

What is "a unit's shield rating" on page 180, for the "Defend" order?
Roland Stone
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:24 am

Postby Roland Stone » Sun May 24, 2009 1:31 am

Is it intended that Scout units, even Elite Scouts, are totally incompetent at spotting ambushes? Would that not be an essential part of their role? Why is it that Awareness is not one of their Key Abilities?
Roland Stone
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:24 am

Postby RJS » Sun May 24, 2009 7:34 am

addressed 5/25
Robert J. Schwalb
Game Designer/Developer
User avatar
RJS
Ronin Evil
Ronin Evil
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 4:01 am
Location: M'boro, TN

Postby Allavandrel » Sun May 24, 2009 11:18 am

Page 177, under "Concealed Units", line 4.

Replace "Perception" with Awareness.
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby Allavandrel » Sun May 24, 2009 11:25 am

Page 119, under "Host Tournaments", in Table under "Regional".

Should the last line read "... plus 2 Wealth as a prize for each contest ..."?
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby ceck » Tue May 26, 2009 5:22 am

pag 169 In the table with weapons reach (last table of Combat chapter pag 169), the mace is missing. Has it reach 0? Also the first is missing...probably substituded with "Unarmed".



Luca
Last edited by ceck on Fri May 29, 2009 10:39 am, edited 2 times in total.
ceck
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:26 am

Postby Allavandrel » Wed May 27, 2009 12:07 am

Page 199, Table 11-7:

The chance to succeed against a Very Hard (18) difficulty with 7 ranks is about 93-94%, not 98%.
Last edited by Allavandrel on Wed May 27, 2009 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby Allavandrel » Wed May 27, 2009 12:09 am

Page 211, under Boar:

Gore 3D+1B
Allavandrel
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:53 am

Postby ceck » Thu May 28, 2009 1:20 am

pag 160
Assist action (already revised)
In a combat can I both assist (lesser) and make a standard attack?

Luca
Last edited by ceck on Fri May 29, 2009 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
ceck
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:26 am

Postby ceck » Fri May 29, 2009 10:40 am

pag 155 Does the extra damage due to a weapon "powerful" attribute apply to the weapon base damage or is it applied after myltiplying by the degree of success?

Luca
ceck
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:26 am

Postby ceck » Fri May 29, 2009 10:43 am

pag 75
Anointed quality
Why should a noble need to have a sponsor to become an annointed knight?
Does this sponsor prerequisite really make sense?

Thanks

Luca
ceck
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:26 am

Postby Aran MacFiona » Sat May 30, 2009 5:42 pm

ceck wrote:pag 75
Anointed quality
Why should a noble need to have a sponsor to become an annointed knight?
Does this sponsor prerequisite really make sense?

Thanks

Luca


Because you need another knight to make you a knight. You can't make yourself a knight except if you're Dunk with an Egg at your side.
Aran MacFiona
Supporting Cast
Supporting Cast
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 2:04 pm

PreviousNext

Return to A Song of Ice and Fire RPG

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests