Penalty Dice

Talk about Green Ronin's A Song of Ice and Fire RPG, based on George R.R. Martin's best-selling fantasy series. Winter is here!

Penalty Dice

Postby Matt H » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:26 am

What happens when you have as many or more penalty dice than test dice available? Is the test automatically a failure, or will there be some sort of 1-die minimum rule?

For instance, say Nicholas Rivers (Endurance 5) has just taken his third wound. Given that his Fighting is only 3, would he ever be able to obtain a result higher than 0 on any remaining tests with that trait?
Matt H
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:20 am

Postby sinisterthings » Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:30 pm

I figure if you're that wounded, the best you can do is try not to bleed on the carpet. Even "easy" tasks become impossible when the penalties stack up. I have no problem reducing the roll to 0 dice. But an official statement would be nice.
sinisterthings
Bystander
Bystander
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:02 pm

Re: Penalty Dice

Postby Zapp » Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:42 pm

The QS rule is clear and unqualified: all test dice can be canceled.

If that weren't the case, the rules needed to have said so. This is the most succinct way of imparting the rule, assuming - as we should - the absence of this qualifier to be intentional rather than accidental.
User avatar
Zapp
Super Poster
Super Poster
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 5:11 am


Return to A Song of Ice and Fire RPG

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests