freeport series tips?

This forum is for the discussion of Green Ronin's various campaign settings, such as Freeport, Thieves' World, Black Company, and the Mythic Vistas titles.

Moderator: Super Moderators

Postby discjacker » Mon Feb 04, 2002 1:54 am

Hail and well met, I am new to these parts but like what I have seen and plan on staying a bit.

Anyway, My Groups last game ended 4hours before it was supposed to with the players piles of goo under the hammer of an Ogre Warrior, A mean 11hd Howler and an evil elven ranger. Hence the new campaign and this question.

I have been interested for some time in running the Freeport series and have decided that now would be a fine time to start. The question is simply were there areas in the module that ran rougher than others, or areas that other GM's found troublesome that could be avoided? I have read all three of the first Adventures just thought I would ask What the general population thought.

Anyway nice to be here.

thanks

- Disc
discjacker
Bystander
Bystander

Postby discjacker » Mon Feb 04, 2002 3:16 am

..........hmmm...........
just checking something
discjacker
Bystander
Bystander

Postby anoxos » Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:50 am

The only module-specific thing I can think of would be the rock crusher trap in TiF. I had to be really generous and stretch things to let people make more checks and fudge it so they had some success chance to survive. It is way too easy to turn that into a TPK. I only killed one, who failed every check I let him make miserably. They dubbed me a killer GM because of that encounter, not realizing how nice I was being to them...:smile:

Other than that, any roughness in my campaign was due to my party, not the modules. They brought it on themselves...
My players keep saying I have a taste for blood...I'll answer them as soon as I'm done with my steak tartare...
anoxos
Dabbler
Dabbler

Postby discjacker » Mon Feb 04, 2002 2:01 pm